THIS IS HOW YOU GET KICKED IN THE HEAD

20150615-214638-78398334.jpg
What do you do when the striking coach of the pros suddenly give you the time of day? Choke, that’s what I did.

Good grief. I could’ve done better, but I didn’t. It was not a matter of striking, thank God, but of stamina, or the lack thereof. I’m an embarrassment to nature.

My thoughts circled here up until the boy and I did our muay thai drills. It was only the lightest spar but he did kick my head. That got my full attention. I thought he was throwing a body kick but he switched it up Carlos Condit-esque and it landed on my head. Hello, Makati. But don’t worry. I am okay. His right leg won’t be tomorrow though.

I always get a sense of achievement when I cleanly land a hit on him. His movement is excellent compared to mine, and while I know he consistently goes easy on me, he defends everything I throw that when a strike lands, goal!

Funny, I am uncertain how to place today’s training. I sucked, but not the most in the history of sucking. I guess it was an okay day. After all, I only have three enormous bruises on my left leg. How bad can that be?

3 thoughts on “THIS IS HOW YOU GET KICKED IN THE HEAD

    1. yes, that’s about it. mind you, i have experienced that. massive bruises on all points of contact. it happened on my first day of training. did not make for a great look for sure! have you ever had anything similar happen to you?

      Like

Leave a Reply

