CHOCOLATE-COVERED DEAD BUTTERFLIES

20150624-211842-76722487.jpg
On on the off chance you have broken your heart today, these incredible chocolate cookies I dedicate to you. These are as dark as the cloud hovering above your head but so moist and decadent there is no doubt in my mind, a cookie is all you need to glue what remains of your detonated cardiac muscle.

There is enough chocolate in this recipe to fill in all the holes – all 20 oz of it divided in only 12 cookies. Don’t be appalled. It is perfect just the way it is. And besides, there is no price for alleviating human suffering, is there? Plus, imagine all the dead butterflies in your stomach now coated in chocolate. Still very dead, but deliciously so.

Please don’t find me insensitive. I made you cookies, after all. Given you cannot eat them, but I am devouring them in your name. Which reminds me, have I ever told you my muay thai origins? While some fighters are born to fight, and others are driven mad by the quest to be the best in the world, I simply started muay thai to alleviate my own broken heart.

The last thing I wanted is to be a wishing well of disappointment and regret. Spending my evenings listening to the clattering pieces of my shattered heart didn’t appeal to me either. Sweat and lashing strikes for me, thank you. Mind you, I might’ve even used my hand wraps to keep my mangled self together.

But the point is, there is a wide array of pain in the world. If you must suffer, always choose that which will make you stronger. Believe in yourself and keep moving forward. If you can’t do that, believe in the cookies – damn yum course to salvation.

21 thoughts on “CHOCOLATE-COVERED DEAD BUTTERFLIES

  1. You can fight, write and bake. Any other hidden talents lady? It’s interesting how people come into martial arts. I love this line: if you must suffer, always choose that which will make you stronger. Sound philosophy.

    Like

    1. how did you get into fighting, charles? i love how i sound like a person of worth, the way you put it. well, i can sleep for 22 hours, does that count? i will be in bangkok the end of july. hopefully i can catch some fights. are you familiar with yokkao shop? saw it on tumblr. i want to do a bit of gear shopping. any reliable you know?

      Like

      1. Yokkao makes really good gear. So does booster. I got into martial arts through kung fu films like most people. I wanted to be a kung fu master but my parents wouldn’t sign me up for classes. So I used to watch films then practice flying side kicks in the back garden as a child. My flatmate 2nd year of uni was a boxer so he started teaching me and introduced me to learning from videos. A started teaching myself sanda (chinese kickboxing) from a really old video which was all in Mandarin. I discovered krav maga after graduation so that was the first thing I trained in at a proper gym. They had muaythai upstairs at the same gym so started training that too. I moved to china and was taught sanda by the PE teacher of the school I was working at. Then basic BJJ by my best mate Roy. I loved it so taking formal BJJ classes at a small gym near I lived. I started training in mma when I moved to Saudi last year.

        Like

        1. from childhood! what a nice story, thank you. am impressed you started by teaching yourself. you have done the rounds, wow. i have not heard of sanda, maybe i will look it up. so i imagine wrestling is next for you?

          Like

          1. You are spot on! Wrestling is next. My focus this summer is muaythai with a little wrestling. Sanda is worth looking. It’s kickboxing with throws and takedowns but no ground fighting. Of the kung fu styles, it’s the only one that is real fight applicable.

            Like

          2. You are spot on! Wrestling is next. My focus this summer is muaythai with a little wrestling. Sanda is worth looking at. It’s kickboxing with throws and takedowns but no ground fighting. Of the kung fu styles, it’s the only one that is real fight applicable.

            Like

            1. sounds good. throws are beautiful to me, but naturally i can’t do them, yet. am not sure if there is a gym here with knowledge of sanda, truly interesting. good luck with the wrestling. where do you plan on learning it?

              Like

                  1. Great question. I love the art and training but not good enough to go pro yet. I have become less and less interested in actually competing the more I learn about head injuries and brain damage. But never say never, especially when in Thailand.

                    Like

                    1. am quite certain you’d fall for it. it’s thailand! but it can get scary when you think about injuries. oh well, all the more reason not to get hit on the head!

                      Like

  2. After a tough crossfit session, a little indulgence is not a bad thing so your great post has prompted me to take out the mixing bowl and create some carob brownies. I don’t know whether to thank you or give out, but I will enjoy eating them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

