TEA CAKES TO DIE FOR AND A 10-MINUTE PASTA

  
My sisters are critical of my muay thai: from training to eating to the hours, to my lungs, to everything really. But what annoys them the most is the food.

If I am game on, I shoot for a healthier diet. I will still eat everything on sight but make an often futile crack at self-restraint and not get servings as big as mimas. Or, if I stuff my face with food I pick lots of fruits or a big salad, to which my sisters are like, “Shut up. Go eat your leaf in a corner and be sad.”

But this past month, all hell broke loose and my inner glutton rejoiced. Some days I find myself saying, “Dear God, please don’t let me see anymore food because I am weak.” It is not just eating really but finding food and making food. As they say, you should do what you love and do it often. I love food and so I will eat.

  
Today, I spent time with my sisters in the kitchen baking sweets like we are on death row and the president is on an extended holiday in Maldives and there is no chance we will ever receive pardon. We made plain banana bars, banana and chocolate ones, and orange tea cakes with cream cheese frosting.

I particularly like the orange tea cakes. Light, fluffy, refreshing, and a cinch to make. I think it is one of the few baking recipes I have committed to memory: 225 g each of self-rising flour, sugar, and butter, plus 4 eggs and a teaspoon of vanilla and zest of an orange. Bake at 350. See, I only memorized it because it is easy. 

 
Also, I cooked a simple pasta dish in the afternoon, just because I am greedy. For the sauce, I cook down sliced tomatoes in a bit of olive oil and flavor it with garlic, chili, and calamansi. You can throw in dry herbs if you have it around, then finish off with cheese and seasoning. 

It takes 10 minutes from start to finish to make this meal. Sometimes I add in tuna or bacon but it is just as good plain. Very light and fresh and costs next to nothing. Also, remarkably delicious. Use this information carefully.

16 thoughts on “TEA CAKES TO DIE FOR AND A 10-MINUTE PASTA

    1. hi, thank you. it is an opportunity people always suggest but my answer remains the same: for now i bake for fun and relaxation. maybe some day i will try to go big with the baking. share the love!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

