A MILDLY UNPLEASANT ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

Do you know how it feels to come out of an awesome fight camp in Legacy and train your ass off on your own after? Me neither.

I have been out, and I will remain out, for the rest of the month. No training. No nothing. I can’t even hold my phone for long. Because. BECAUSE I hurt my right wrist. There. I finally said it. Venting is mildly therapeutic.

The sharp pain to the side of my wrist manifested three weeks ago and it proves to be a subtle suggestion that a. I punch hard and b. I am an idiot.

This gives me a shot of pure grief concentrate. It is boring beyond belief not to train muay thai and this injury so annoyingly caused me my dragon boat debut, too.

Sigh. The Lord is testing me. So what do you do when you can’t train muay thai?

Preferrably, THIS.










No room for discipline here. I find all these immensely cheering amid a big cauldron of dark emotions.

Oh, well. Fuck it. What can I do? Hell is fine. All the dinosaurs feared the T-Rex. 

70 thoughts on “A MILDLY UNPLEASANT ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

  1. oh my! Those look amazing I must say. I join hands with you ( the left one since the right is damaged for now) in claiming that I LOVE Food too!!! Next best thing after trying to burn it off!! Sorry about the wrist. Enjoy this break nature has presented you with, and be prepared to get back even tougher and stronger when you do! Happy Recovery!

    Like

      1. Yes… but if i know you already ( coz u alot like me) you will try to wriggle yourself into those “close to impossible” poses which will require both hands… but stick to the basics and you should be ok… why dont you try swimming???

        Like

        1. actually, my wrist is fine with up and down movements. turning right sideways is the motherfucker. my ligament is not happy. i am back in makati so no swimming for now, but i will see what i can do towards the end of next week. i visited the ashram near my apartment a couple of days ago and i am quite excited to have a go.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well… thats superb!! If you think you can handle it with maximum care on your wrist then go for it and tell us how you find it. A Word of caution though…be patient at the beginning…it may seem slow and boring but…. just go with the flow 😉

            Waiting to hear about your experience xx

            Like

            1. many thanks! while patience is certainly not one of my most outstanding qualities, i will try. be good to try something new. it should have been dragon boat racing but since i can’t possibly do that without breaking my wrist, yoga sounds charming.

              Liked by 1 person

                    1. of course. be good to diversify. since my reluctant admission to the t-rex family, i have taken to running as well. i am not the best runner in the world nor will i ever be but it is just nice to do something, you know?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Ha! Ha! Ha! T-Rex family…. love that!!! Welcome to running… im a hopeless runner too… due to being asthmatic and prone to holding back… but download c25k…its what i use… i have been stuck on Week 1 for 6 months (you will see what that is when you download and know why this is soo pathetic).

                      Try it out

                      Like

                    3. my main problem with running is that it is hopelessly boring. i get more bored than tired. but i understand that it has immense benefits for my fight training so i try, and fail of course.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. of course you can make it. we just have to suck it up and keep going. interestingly, i met a swede fighter in camp who said we should not rely on motivation as it comes and goes. we must be disciplined and just do what needs to be done. passing this great advice on. this from a person who solves her wrist injury by binge eating, of course.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. Lol….sounds like a theory in the making. But discipling is sometimes boring… unlike binge eating… which cal always be fun ( until your clothes don’t fit anymore)

                      Like

                    6. it is difficult. probably why it is effective. binge eating though is a beautiful thing. i try to eat healthy when i can so there is no drama every time i feel like falling into a binge.

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading a number of your posts, it occurs to me that your travel, your training, and your food choices share one common element– disdain and terror of boredom.

    That terror motivates me out of my comfort zone and drives me to work at things I might otherwise fail to do.

    Like

      1. Indeed we do. I feel smarter when I travel, when I cook, or when I do something technical I’ve never tried before because those activities compel me to solve new problems and forge new neural pathways I’ve not had to use before.

        Like

          1. I find it problematic when anything stays the same for too long, or I stay the same for any length of time. Ever steered a sailboat? You can’t just go straight or stay still. Preventing boredom is identical.

            Like

            1. aha, what a pleasure to meet someone like you. i have never steered a sailboat but i do know when things get stale the next best thing to do is throw a grenade where you are and jump off.

              Like

                    1. what is it that you do anyway? i am dying here. half-willing to sell my soul to satan for faster healing. i want to go back to legacy next month but am not sure if i will live.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. don’t push yourself too hard yet otherwise your body will fight back against you for not giving it time 🙂 I’m a first aid attendant at work, thus my preaching lol!

                      Like

                    3. i am trying to be patient, but it is hardly my most outstanding virtue. first aid attendant. in a hospital? what setting? i am a registered nurse but i am not practicing.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. I bet, i’m sure you want to get out there, little bit longer 🙂 btw if you got line chat? look me up on yoshimaro1076 🙂 if you like i mean

                      Like

  3. So sorry about your wrist, I know it’s disappointing for you. Now, the food looks awesome, hope you enjoyed it since that’s the best option at the moment. Delicious!

    Like

        1. first time to try yoga and am enjoying it. not a bad way to spend injured time. where are you fighting? is it in the bigger stadium we talked about before? anywhere it is, win it for me, eh?

          Like

          1. Unfortunately it’s a bangla stadium. Hopefully the next one is at the other stadium. They were also talking about max muaythai or super muaythai depending on how I get on.
            I will give a 1000% for you.

            Like

    1. this is the first injury. it was my first coming from training. i find it comfort in food. it has been an injury after another so i have gained weight!

      Like

      1. You sound liek your are on the right track, don’t be harrd on yourself, you will shake that weight of real quick. Someone once told me to plan your travels around food, that way you will never be disappointed 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

