THE LIGHTHOUSE AT MALAPASCUAS’ END

 
Lying on a beachfront hammock in gorgeous Malapascua Island has its perks, but wearing its weave pattern is not one of them. It is a sign to get up. Usually. 

But what to do? More snorkeling means extra grilling in an open fire, and let me tell you, my skin is way past well-done by now. 

Oh, there is a lighthouse on the island. Somewhere. I don’t know where, but you would think it is a no-brainer. 

How hard is it to find a lighthouse? It is a fucking lighthouse. Can’t miss it, right?

WRONG. 

I start walking, and walking, and a little bit more. Then a lot. What I expected to be a lovely afternoon stroll quickly turned out to be a Death March.
    
 I am hot, sweaty, and incredibly thirsty. I have imagined my death in numerous occasions but I never thought this is how it ends. 

Delirious. I am seeing things. Surely, that is not a pig tethered to the front of the house?  

 
A few more turns, this way, that way. I am fucking lost. I know so because this is the end of the damn island. 

I came close to the lighthouse but not all the way. I was ill-prepared to scale a cliff. 

See, kids? This is why you never leave your beachfront hammock.

10 thoughts on “THE LIGHTHOUSE AT MALAPASCUAS’ END

  1. Lol….death march… happened to me on a forest trail…just bloody wouldn’t end… but I had shade….and water…and an apple… but I kicked myself for not picking up the bar of chocolate on the counter… ah well…that was my motivation… to get out alive and eat that fricking bar of chocolate…

    Like

Leave a Reply

